A Very Merry Christmas

DSC_0591

Merry Christmas all dear ones!

After finishing a lab yesterday afternoon I could finally go home, get some rest, make phone calls to my family back home and dress up. I had some Christmas gifts that’s been waiting patiently in my bookshelf, and yesterday I could finally open them and try all the goodies inside.

The Swedish exchange students had a gathering yesterday night, including some visiting family and girlfriends we were almost 30 people in total. For me it felt like I was in a dream: being surrounded by my mother tounge, having  Swedish food, Swedish drinks and making very Swedish jokes. The man with the biggest beard was chosen to be Santa Claus and had to come and knook at the door and say “Ho ho, are there any well-behaving kids in this home?”, before reading out Christmas rhymes we had written on each others gifts and letting us guess what might be inside. Some Swedes received slippers, coffee or tea cups, others small games or things of very questionable purpose.

The main discussion of the evening was about the moral aspects of having couscous salad for the buffet. ” This is not Swedish tradition!” Christmas is one of the few days we actually eat food with that is from our own culture.

Today I woke up and decided that I might as well eat cake for breakfast. After all, it’s Christmas. Somehow there was new gifts delivered to me while I was out yesterday night. After finishing eating I have to try to track down the girl who gave them.

I’m also trying to figure out excuses good enough to keep me out of the lab today. “I feel a little sick”? ” I got food poisoning from the experiment yesterday”? “I have an important meeting in my dorm”? But I think the teacher will be very suspicious if the only foreigner in the class is absent at the 25th of December.

I should not complain actually. One Swedish friend had an exam last night, and another one left the party at midnight to go and work with his project group. Taiwan, give us a Christmas break!

May your week be peaceful, your hearts thankful and your tummies just full. Christmas wishes for you!

PS. I did buy Taiwanese Christmas cards which I never wrote or sent. Please forgive me. Maybe you can get them next year? Ds.

One thought on “A Very Merry Christmas

  1. Ha ha nice post!
    sorry to know that you didn’t get a break for Christmas, though I hope you had a nice time with your friends!:)

Write a comment

