Breakfast and traditional characters

DSC_8606

A simple breakfast outside: a hot Taiwanese (with Japanese influences?) rice ball filled with a little this and that inside, served with sweet milk tea.

I found a table where someone already started reading a newspaper, and I decided to try to see what was written in it. I have learned to read simplified Chinese and thought I would learn to read the traditional characters quite fast while being here. They are similar but the simplified are just a little more .. simplified. They say the simplified characters used in Mainland China removes much of the logic behind the characters, but it also makes it easier to learn and is faster to write.

I was decent in understanding simple things written in Mainland China, but here I feel like an alphabet all over again. I guess it would take some hard work to read this beautiful characters, and I’m not sure if I am ready to spend an effort on it right now.

Write a comment

