Two weeks in a very far country

DSC_8393

Today it is two weeks since I left Sweden. Two weeks… It’s such a short time, but I already feel like I have been here forever.

The first week and a half I was walking on air. Everything was exciting and special, and I slept very little. Now it seems like my body is urging be to slow down a little and sleep more, this days I feel like if I am having a little fever.

When you find yourself far from home you might feel that the good times are really good and the hard times are really hard. It is like life spend less time being mediocre and more time going for extremes.

Well, good times come, good times go. Today I’ll hide myself in a corner of the NCTU library as I decided that I deserve some time of. As soon as my body get some good rest I’ll be back to face the lost-foreigner-in-Taiwan struggles again.

After two weeks in Taiwan:

Am I ok with the language? – No, so far I’ve just been warming up.

Am I ok with living in the dorm? – To my own surprise, yes.

Did I get used to the food? – Sort of.

Have I got used to the weather? No, I’m melting away. They say you need two weeks to get used to a new climate, well I’m still waiting for it to happen!

Hey, did you see that I keep updating on Instagram? Just in case you didn’t see I’ll repost some photos from three of my classes this week. All three of them are given in Chinese and I’m the only non-native speaker around.

IMG_20140915_100030

Physics

IMG_20140915_170954

Automatic Control

IMG_20140916_133558

Microbiology

4 thoughts on “Two weeks in a very far country

  1. “When you find yourself far from home you might feel that the good times are really good and the hard times are really hard.” I’m studying abroad in Spain this semester, and while I don’t think I’ve been here long enough to say for sure, my gut tells me your observation is very true. Beautifully written post!

Write a comment

