Dear Linköping

Dear Linköping. Leaving you behind is hard. I have left you before, I have missed you before but I know that I, just as before, will come back.

August is probably your best month of the year, beautiful sunshine, crisp morning air and some cool rain showers – it all suits you so well. New students arrive and with them the special air of the student welcoming period. Suddenly you never know what you’ll find on the other side of a corner. Will it be lost exchange students wondering how to find the food store? Will it be yet another mysterious group in beards and matching outfits marching by? Or a rented bagpipe band?

You just can’t understand Linköping in August if you are not here.

Our local Superstars taking an afternoon walk over campus

Our local superstars taking an afternoon walk over campus.

I will miss going home on a half-broken bike with too many bags of newly bought groceries. I will miss waiting in line every break to buy the 5 SEK coffee. I will miss the bright colors of seventy styles apartments.

DSC_7886

After the last exam was over I could finally have time to take farewell of some friends. Taking late night walks, eating apple pie and chatting. My heart breaks a little from having to leave you guys behind. In one year from now so much will have happened in your lives. I wish I could share it, but the other side of the earth is simply to far away.

When the last friends left I stood gazing out the window and saw you disappear.

Dear Linköping, see you again in next August.

2 thoughts on “Dear Linköping

  1. I feel your pain in leaving linkoping behind…I feel bad for you but I do hope you have a good time in Taiwan. May God be with you and protect you both in your journey and your stay!
    Ps. Love the photo of your legs on the rug…I love how the colors just
    Pop!

Write a comment

